Board members

More about us


Fund+ relies on the experience, vision and leadership of its Board Members

Mark Waer

Board Chairman / Board Member

Mark Waer holds a MD degree (1976 ) and a PhD degree in Immunology (1985 ) from the KULeuven. After a postdoc period at Stanford University and a training in internal medicine/nephrology at the Leuven University hospital he became staffmember at the division of nephrology/renal transplantation and in 1992 professor of Nephrology of KULeuven. In 2000 he became medical director of the KUleuven University hospital, in 2005 vicerector for the biomedical sciences and in 2009 rector of the KULeuven. Presently, Mark Waer is honorary rector of KULeuven and chairman of the board of the University Hospitals of KULeuven. Mark Waer has a long standing experience in the field of clinical immunology and development of immunosuppressive drugs in the context of the spin-off company 4AZA from which he was a cofounder or in formal collaboration with major pharmaceutical companies such as Hoechst AG and UCB.

Chris Buyse

Executive Board Member

Chris Buyse was CFO at ThromboGenics NV from September 2006 until June 2014. He has 30 years of experience in international company finance and in running and establishing best financial practice. He was previously CFO of the Belgian biotechnology company CropDesign, where he coordinated its acquisition by BASF in early 2007. Before this, he was Finance Director of WorldCom/MCI Belux, and was CFO and interim CEO of Keyware Technologies, In addition, he held several financial positions at Suez Lyonnaise des Eaux and Unilever. He is currently serving as an independent Board Member of a few companies, mostly active in life sciences such as Celyad, Iteos and Bioxodes.

Désiré Collen

Honorary Chairman / Board Member

Désiré Collen holds a M.D. degree (1968) and Ph.D. degree in Chemistry (1974) from KULeuven. His team initially developed t-PA, still the most effective drug for thrombolytic therapy of acute myocardial infarction and ischemic stroke. He has received several scientific awards including the Francqui Prize (1984) and the Health Prize of the Interbrew-Baillet Latour Fund (2006, jointly with P. Carmeliet). He was the Founder and until December 2013 Chairman of the Board of ThromboGenics NV, where his team developed Jetrea for the treatment of vitreo-macular traction.

Arnoud de Pret

Board Member

Arnoud de Pret Roose de Calesberg graduated as commercial engineer at the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL). Over the years he held multiple financial positions at amongst others Morgan Guaranty Trust of New York (in Brussels and Antwerp from 1971 to 1978), Cockerill (1978-1981), UCB (1981-1990), Société Générale de Belgique (1990-1991) and Groupe Union Minière (Umicore – 1991-2000). He was for over 30 years Board Member, member of the Audit Committee and Chairman of the Financial Committee at AB Inbev. Currently he is Board Member and President of the Financial Committee of L’Intégrale and Vice President of the Supervisory Board, President of the Audit Committee and Member of the Nomination Committee of Euronext. He is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Sebastien Holding, Rayvax, Comprendre et Parler and Board member of the Fondation Inbev-Baillet Latour.

Pierre Drion

Board Member

Pierre Drion is a Belgian philanthropist, financier and science enthusiast. His main interests in research range from biotechnology to sociology. He is an emblematic figure in the Belgian financial world. Some of the most important financial transactions in Belgium bear his trademark. He was formerly CEO of Petercam, one of Belgian’s principal investment banks active in three main areas: private and institutional asset management, corporate finance and stock market transactions. He was also a former Chairman of Spadel and Unibra, Vice-Chairman of the Belgian Association of Bankers and Exchange Brokers, as well as Director of a number of other companies including Axa Belgium, Electrabel, Neuhaus. Today, he is still Director of Luxempart, and member of the Board of a number of companies including Chromacure sa. He is Chairman of the ULB Foundation, established in 2008 to promote scientific research at the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) by organizing fundraising activities in Belgium and abroad.

François Fontaine

Board Member

François Fontaine joined the Board of Directors of Fund+ in December 2016. He has a law degree from ULB (Université Libre de Bruxelles) and a degree in fiscal sciences from the Brussels Management School (ICHEC). He is Fund Manager at SFPI-FPMI (the Federal Holding and Investment Company), one of the main investors of Fund+. He is also Board Member in a few biotech funds and companies such as Epimede, Theodorus, Asit Biotech, PCD Line and Bioxodes.

Debasish Roychowdhury

Independent Board Member

Dr. Debasish Roychowdhury is a leader in the pharmaceutical industry with a strong background in oncology research and development, and regulatory and commercial operations.Debasish was the Senior Vice President of Global Oncology and Head of the Global Oncology Division at Sanofi until November 2013. Prior to that, he served as the Vice President for Development at GlaxoSmithKline and directed the oncology global regulatory and clinical group at Eli Lilly. He served as CMO of Seragon before its acquisition by Roche and also serves as an independent board member of Celyad SA, Radius Pharma, Lytix Biopharma and Imcheck Therapeutics. He is a lecturer in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, MIT. In his academic career, Debasish served as a faculty member at the University of Cincinnati. He was trained at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi and University of California, San Francisco.

Urbain Vandeurzen

Board Member

Urbain Vandeurzen was in 1980 co-Founder and until January 2013 Chairman and CEO of LMS International, a high-tech company. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of GIMV from June 2011 until March 2016. From 1996 to 2003 he was already Boardmember at GIMV. Since 2012 he is Director and Chairman of the fundraising campaign “Opening the Future” from KULeuven and of Flanders Make, a flemish strategic research centre. He is Honorary Chairman of VOKA-VEV and he was as Chairman of VOKA-VEV very much involved in defining the transformation programme “Vlaanderen in Actie”. In 2017, he launched and became Chairman of an evergreen private equity investment company with EUR 350 mio capital for investments in ambitious innovative growth companies with a focus on the high tech industries and healthcare sector, excluding life sciences